Est. 2011

Henry Cabot Lodge

Henry Cabot Lodge (1850 - 1924) was an American Republican Senator and historian from Massachusetts. He had a PhD in history from Harvard and was a long-time friend and confidant of Theodore Roosevelt. Lodge had the role of the first Senate Majority Leader. He is probably best known for his involvement in foreign policy, especially his battle with President Wilson in 1919 over the Treaty of Versailles.

He was the grandfather of Henry Cabot Lodge Jr (July 5,1902-February 27, 1985).

In 1924, Henry Cabot Lodge Jr graduated from Harvard University. In November 1936, Lodge was elected to the U.S. Senate as Republican. He served from January 1937 to February 1944 when he took part in World War II. In 1946 Lodge returned to the Senate. He persuades Eisenhower to run for the Republican presidential nomination. Lodge served as his campaign manager. In November 1952 Lodge was defeated by John F. Kennedy in the election for the Senate. Lodge was named U.S. ambassador to the United Nation in 1953 which he left in 1960 to run for Vice President under Nixon's nomination as President (against John F. Kennedy).

The Cabot Lodges of Massachusetts imported significant quantities of vintage Madeira and Port Wine. Some of the Madeiras and Ports were sold at Sotheby's, and that is also where our bottles were bought.

Old Colheita/Tawny tasting notes:

From estate of deceased
Henry Cabot Lodge Sr.
ColourClouded tawny in colour and very light.Number of tastings1
BouquetShy and alcoholic in the nose. Not attractive at allBottled
TasteHardly medium body. Alcoholic and not good at all. Shot unattractive finish. Terrible port. As dull as politicians often are.Score range
Last tasted6th March 1992Point this date8.00
CommentThis bottle was sold at Sotheby in December 1991.
In the catalogue it was said that the Port were from around 1880 and have been enjoyed during the 1930s and 1940s in Cabot Lodge home of him, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Winston Churchill.

Last tasted:

11th March
Cruz 1989
10th March
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1967
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1968
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1969
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1970
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1972
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1974
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1976
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1978
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1982
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1984
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1986
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1987
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1988
Quinta de Vargellas
Taylor 1991
Quinta do Silval
Quinta do Noval 1983


Copyright © 2011 All rights reserved.