Est. 2011


Constantino Vinhos SA

Founded 1877
Owner Sogrape

The well known Sociedade dos Vinhos do Porto Constantino, was founded in 1877 by Constantino de Almeida who acquired the two important vineyards, Quinta do Crastro and Quinta da Sobreira. He died in 1922 and was succeeded by his three sons. This House was associated with the old, well-known prestigious Port Wine company, the famous Hunt Roope & Co. Ltd whose origins go back to 1650. Ferreira bought Hunt Roope in 1956, and in 1958 Constantinos, and merged the two to the port House Hunt Constantiono Vinhos SA.

Constantino Vintages:1912, 1920, 1927, 1935, 1941, 1945, 1947, 1950, 1958, 1960, 1963, 1966

Vintage Port tasting notes:

ColourMature tawny colour.Number of tastings1
BouquetCaramel and burned sugar in the nose.Score range16.50 - 16.50
TasteMature and generous taste. Some sweetness left. Balanced. Lovely finish. Old but quite attractive and good.Average score
Last tasted23rd December 2006Point this date16.50
CommentAt home with the family.
TastersSAI, JB, SS
ColourMature tawny colour.Number of tastings1
BouquetMenthol in the nose.Score range15.25 - 15.25
TasteMedium body. Mature burned sugar taste. Quite old but with complexity and elegance. Have been much better we suppose.Average score
Last tasted25th December 2008Point this date15.25
CommentAt home with the family.
TastersSAI, JB, SS
Quinta do Crastro
ColourBeautiful mature tawny colour.Number of tastings1
BouquetComplex caramel and burned sugar nose.Score range16.75 - 16.75
TasteMedium body. Full mature and on the way down but elegant and complex. Easy to drink. Long finish. Wonderful port.Average score
Last tasted14th May 2005Point this date16.75
CommentAt the Wine Society 18% Great Tasting in Malmö.
This was a single quinta vintage i.e. Quinta do Crastro.
TastersSAI, JB, SS

Copyright © 2011 All rights reserved.